CONGRATULATIONS! Big award for Alki Elementary principal Rena Deese

(Photo courtesy Alki Elementary PTA)

What a way to start the week – a surprise presentation of a big award. It happened this morning to Alki Elementary principal Rena Deese, in her third year of leading West Seattle’s northernmost elementary School. The Alliance for Education presents the Thomas B. Foster Award for Excellence to an outstanding Seattle Public Schools principal each year – along with a grant to her/his school; the organization made the surprise presentation during an assembly starting the school day.

(Added: Photo courtesy Alliance for Education)

Deese is the first West Seattle principal to be honored with this award since Denny International Middle School‘s Jeff Clark in 2011. (The full list of winners is here.) This comes just two weeks after the news that Alki Elementary was honored as a School of Distinction for the second consecutive year.

6 Replies to "CONGRATULATIONS! Big award for Alki Elementary principal Rena Deese"

  • Kate October 29, 2018 (5:20 pm)

    This is so awesome.  Ms. Deese is a rockstar. 

  • Amy B October 29, 2018 (8:30 pm)

    Congrats Miss Deese!  So happy to be part of the Alki community!

  • Lindsay McDonald October 30, 2018 (9:09 am)

    My 4th grader thought the presentation of the giant check at yesterday’s assembly was the coolest thing ever. Congratulations Ms. Deese! 

  • Julie Ryan October 30, 2018 (3:01 pm)

    So exciting! Congrats Ms. Deese and thanks for all you do for our kids. 

  • Mel Spiker October 30, 2018 (3:15 pm)

     Wow, what an honor!  Ms. Deese, thank you for loving our kiddos and embracing us all.   Congratulations! 

  • Dano Beal October 31, 2018 (8:53 pm)

    Ms Deese is simply remarkable!…. it is such an honor to work with someone that is truly the best in their field. Rena nurtures a culture of love, learning, and care for one another. Everyday I am astounded by her energy, grace, humor, and sheer commitment. Our school is a remarkable place, and we are so very proud of our leader! This award could not go to a more deserving individual!

Sorry, comment time is over.