109 year-old home slated for demolition for yet another Row House Development

Home Forums West Seattle Rants & Raves 109 year-old home slated for demolition for yet another Row House Development

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

David B
    Participant

I live on Vashon Island and I work downtown in a hotel. I’ve been commuting for over 20 years now. Over that time I have often contemplated selling my home and moving to the West Seattle area just to be closer to work and to cut down on my commute time as well as save a lot of money from the rising costs of the ferry system. Now I am so glad that I didn’t, for over the last few years, all of the runaway development of multistoried Townhomes and Apartments have in my opinion blighted the West Seattle area. Nowhere is this more apparent than on the Fauntleroy strip. I realize that this city needs more housing for its residents and newcomers but is it really necessary to tear down everything in the the name of progress? Can’t the city planners and developers leave a few pieces our past behind so that we the residents as well as the influx of newcomers can see, touch and feel the connection to our communities past history as well as a sense of familiarity and belonging? Ever since the city rezoned these areas it has been one gigantic giveaway to the developers and they have been in a building frenzy with no end in sight. One house after another is being demolished to make way for more density increasing projects. It’s obvious who the winners are here. The city gets a lot of revenue from the developers permits, fees etc and in return the city is approving most of the projects submitted and has given the developers free rein to build one after another with a complaining public be damned attitude. Built with no greenspaces, no yards, little to no parking, they push the foundations of these structures right out to the sidewalks and then have the nerve to call them “Townhomes” and “Rowhouses”. Miniature mental institu