Explore the beach at low tide with Beach Naturalists

When:
July 16, 2019 all-day
2019-07-16T00:00:00-07:00
2019-07-17T00:00:00-07:00
Where:
Lincoln Park (beach) & Alki south beach
8011 Fauntleroy Way SW
Seattle, WA 98136
USA

(Note: Beach Naturalist events occur between 10 am and 4 pm. Each day /event time varies with the tide and lasts about 2 hours. Low tide usually falls in the middle of the hours listed.)

Join trained volunteers from Seattle Aquarium’s Beach Naturalist Program for a free guided exploration at very low tide (note the dates and specific times for each day below) No reservations necessary.

Dress for the windy weather and wear shoes that can get wet and handle very slippery surfaces. This program designed for adults and 3 and older. All children must be accompanied by an adult.

Find events at Lincoln Park (beach) and South Alki/Constellation Park.

Stroll along almost any Seattle beach during low tide on a summer weekend and you’ll see that the shore is alive!

Not only will you witness Puget Sound’s multitude of marine plants and animals, you’ll also see beach naturalists: advocates for these living wonders sharing their knowledge with beachgoers.
Beach naturalists are local citizens who care about Puget Sound beaches and want to help protect them. More than 100 have volunteered to help people learn about and enjoy area shorelines. Beach naturalists know their beaches: they can help you enjoy the habitat without harming it; tell you what sea stars eat; explain why barnacles stand on their heads; describe how moon snails lay their eggs; and so much more. “The enthusiasm and excitement of our beach naturalists transfers directly to the public—it’s a wonderful, infectious thing!” beams Janice Mathisen, community outreach coordinator at the Seattle Aquarium. “To be able to meet a family and educate them on what a treasure we have here in Puget Sound is amazing.”

Summer 2019 Beach Naturalist Events in West Seattle:
(*Lowest summer tides)

Sunday, June 2, 10 am–noon
Monday, June 17, 10 am–1 pm
Tuesday, July 16, 10 am–1 pm
Monday, June 3, 10 am–12:30 pm
Tuesday, June 18, 10:15 am–1:15 pm
Wednesday, July 17, 10:30 am–1:30 pm
Tuesday, June 4, 10 am–1:30 pm
Wednesday, June 19, 11:30 am–2 pm
*Wednesday, July 31, 9:30 am–1 pm
Wednesday, June 5, 10:30 am–2:30 pm
*Tuesday, July 2, 9:30 am–12:45 pm
*Thursday, August 1, 9:30 am–1:30 pm
Thursday, June 6, 11:30 am–3 pm
*Wednesday, July 3, 10 am–2 pm
*Friday, August 2, 10:30 am–2:30 pm
Saturday, June 8, 2–4 pm
*Thursday, July 4, 10:30 am–2:30 pm
Saturday, August 3, 11:30 am–2:30 pm
Saturday, June 15, 9:30–11:30 am
*Friday, July 5, 11:30 am–3 pm
Sunday, August 4, 1–3 pm
Sunday, June 16, 9:30 am–12:30 pm
Saturday, July 6, 12:30–3 pm

Charles Richey Viewpoint (aka SOUTH ALKI BEACH): Beach Drive @ 63rd Ave. SW, 98116. Look for Beach Naturalist signs. The Beach Naturalists will be on the beach in red hats.

LINCOLN PARK (BEACH): Fauntleroy Way SW and SW Cloverdale St. 98136
Park at the southern-most parking lot and walk down to the beach. Look for Beach Naturalist signs. The Beach Naturalists will be on the beach in red hats.

1 Reply to "Explore the beach at low tide with Beach Naturalists"

  • Nancy July 3, 2019 (4:17 pm)

    Planning to bring my 13-year old twins on July 4 for the Beach Naturalists activities.  We would arrive early given the holiday parking challenge.  Where do we meet the Naturalists volunteers?  

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published.