High-school basketball: Coach of the Year, MVP honors again for West Seattle HS girls

With the Metro League high-school basketball playoffs starting tonight, the league has announced its honors for the season.

(Coach Darnell Taylor – WSB photo from last month)

West Seattle High School‘s undefeated girls-basketball team has both the league MVP – Lydia Giomi, who also won Defensive Player of the Year – and Coach of the Year – Darnell Taylor.

Giomi, a senior, was MVP last year too (not just in basketball, but also in volleyball), and WSHS also had the Coach of the Year last year (Taylor’s predecessor Sonya Elliott). The girls team also has Lexi Ioane on the first all-league team, Grace Sarver on the third all-league team, and honorable mentions for Gabby Sarver and Izzy Turk.

The WSHS boys’ team has three players with all-league honors – Nate Pryor on the first team, Carter Golgart and Yusuf Mohamed with honorable mentions.

Chief Sealth International High School placed two players on each honorable-mention basketball lineup – from the girls’ team, Allison Hadaway and Kali Schroyer; from the boys’ team, Isiah Hart and Evan Moe.

P.S. We published a list of the first-scheduled playoff games last night, here.

2 Replies to "High-school basketball: Coach of the Year, MVP honors again for West Seattle HS girls"

  • HS bball fan February 8, 2016 (9:30 pm)

    WSHS Boys beat O’Dea tonight.

    • WSB February 8, 2016 (10:07 pm)

      Yup! Couldn’t make it to the game but the Times reports the score, and retweeted by the WSHS basketball account so I would guess it was accurate, 73-54. Writing something separate shortly. Thank you – TR

Sorry, comment time is over.