WSB Forum » Open Discussion

(10 posts)

Truffle Hunting Class - For Dogs

• Started 1 year ago by service dog academy
  • Latest reply from Denise

1. Youre a truffle connoisseur, I am a dog trainer who LOVES LOVES LOVES LOVES LOVES LOVES LOOOOOOOVES scent work. Lets have some fun together and create a dog training class to help people find truffles with their pups. Email me if you are the truffle hunting connoisseur who wants to help or if you are interested in training your dog to hunt truffles!

mary@servicedogacademydotcom
    Mary McNeight, CPDT-KA, CCS, BGS
    Director of Training and Behavior
    Service Dog Academy - http://www.servicedogacademy.com

Posted 1 year ago #         
  2. This sounds fun, but where does one go to take the dog truffle hunting for practice? We have a dog that would love such a thing, though--she took to "go find it" with treats quite well!

Posted 1 year ago #         
  3. There are plenty of truffles in the forests of the Pacific Northwest. Oregon truffles are particularly fine.

Posted 1 year ago #         
  4. My idea was to do what all other scent trainers do. Set up situations in their training studios, transition to easy live environments (like your back yard or a park) with hidden truffles and then culminate in a trip to Oregon to hunt truffles with our pups!

Sadly I personally have never eaten a truffle, I just thought it would be a fun culinary outlet for our students and a fun training opportunity for both our students and me.

Posted 1 year ago #         
  5. Service Dog Academy:
    We would love to talk about working with you for training classes if you are interested, or if there is a group of people in W. Seattle. There are indeed truffles in Washington, and while the basics are very similar to other scent work, as you know working in live environments tends to be much more challenging- and even more so with this work with all the distractions out in the wild. Deer, Elk, squirrels, Vast open spaces, etc.