WSB Forum » Open Discussion

(16 posts)

Pop up appearing only on this blog

  • Started 10 months ago by Jiggers
  • Latest reply from chrisma

  1. Jiggers
    Member Profile

    Jiggers

    Its saying a message "I got it' Anyone else getting it too?

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  2. Yes just started happening about 5 minutes ago while reading the top story on the homepage.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  3. Already fixed, thanks to those who e-mailed us. Again, if you see a problem with the site, PLEASE E-MAIL US AT EDITOR@WESTSEATTLEBLOG.COM or you can call us any time with problems, breaking news, kind words, whatever ... 206-293-6302.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  4. Jiggers
    Member Profile

    Jiggers

    Clean now...Thanks. I was ready to have my friend do an E.A. session and see if it was a real virus happening on my end.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  5. I'm not getting it now. My antivirus popped up the same time that came up.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  6. 365Stairs
    Member Profile

    365Stairs

    Great response time - thanks for fixing!

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  7. thanks for fix; I also was concerned about virus

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  8. I was able to pull up the Javascript that was producing the popup from the page source code.

    The code itself was not malicious. It was attempting to retrieve a cookie and if it could not it would set one. If it could successfully retrieve the cookie, it would produce the alert box with the text "I got it".

    It was tied to some Google Ad code, and looked to me like someone was trying to hijack WSB page views for their own Google AdSense account.

    Not so smart to leave the alert function in there.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  9. TR

    Thanks for fixing - I was thinking I was logging on too often and becoming a pest! ;-)

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  10. "I got it" is a response button on google+. Not sure what reason it might have for showing up in google ad code but it could possibly be related to google's ongoing integration of all it's working parts with the under development Google+

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  11. I was composing an e-mail to the editors when the problem disappeared. Fast work, WSB!

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  12. metrognome
    Member Profile

    I actually did get hit by the 'Kaspersky-Safeweb' virus that seemed to originate from WSB and then started getting the 'I got it' pop-up. I sent WSB the details so hopefully they've cleaned up the source of the problem. I'll be running a full virus scan tonight ...

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  13. metrognome, more information re: virus possibly originating from WSB, please.

    WSB, quick resolution!! Thank you.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  14. metrognome
    Member Profile

    notice I said "seemed"; this is the response I just got from WSB:

    "It wasn't a virus but as I understand it, an attempt to fool the interwebs into thinking our pageviews were going to somebody else's ad. How they got in, I don't know, that's for our experts to figure out."

    All I know is that just after I posted a comment on a home page article, I got an alert from Norton that it had blocked a virus attack. I had a second browser tab open, so it could have come from that except that I wasn't using it at the time.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  15. http://www.google.com/safebrowsing/diagnostic?site=westseattleblog.com

    What is the current listing status for westseattleblog.com?
    This site is not currently listed as suspicious.

    What happened when Google visited this site?
    Of the 31 pages we tested on the site over the past 90 days, 0 page(s) resulted in malicious software being downloaded and installed without user consent. The last time Google visited this site was on 2011-07-10, and suspicious content was never found on this site within the past 90 days.
    This site was hosted on 1 network(s) including AS19066 (WIREDTREE).

    Has this site acted as an intermediary resulting in further distribution of malware?
    Over the past 90 days, westseattleblog.com did not appear to function as an intermediary for the infection of any sites.

    Has this site hosted malware?
    No, this site has not hosted malicious software over the past 90 days.

    Posted 10 months ago #         
  16. Metrognome: do you use Norton or Kaspersky for your antivirus? You've mentioned both here, and I don't think they play well together.

    There's a scareware package out there that apparently used the name Norton Safe Web, which is probably meant to be confused with the legitimate Norton Safe Web service. It's one of those that pops up when you visit a site and makes it appear that your computer has detected or blocked a virus in the hopes that you'll click the "Scan" or "Clean" button that it presents you with, which will then download the malware.

    Ken posted a warning about a similar one a month or so ago that once you clicked would make it appear that all your files had disappeared and other fun things.

    It's always good to keep in mind what antivirus product you are actually using, so as not to be confused by these kinds of things. And to always be suspicious and look twice before clicking when you get some kind of virus alert, especially when you've just navigated to a web site. In my experience, 95% of those are bogus.

    Game and chat sites are notorious for this kind of thing.

    Posted 10 months ago #         

RSS feed for this topic

Reply

You must log in to post.

All contents copyright 2012, A Drink of Water and a Story Interactive. Here's how to contact us.
No photo reuse without permission.
Entries and comments feeds. ^Top^