Seattle School Board elects new president in split vote

A news release just in from Seattle Public Schools reports that the School Board elected new officers tonight – with a bit of a fight over the presidency. According to the news release, Kay Smith-Blum was elected the new board president in a 4-3 vote – her backers were West Seattle’s board rep Marty McLaren as well as Sharon Peaslee (who, like McLaren, defeated an incumbent to win election to the board last year) and Betty Patu. The three who voted against Smith-Blum had supported Sherry Carr for president instead – outgoing president Michael DeBell, Harium Martin-Morris, and Carr herself. Also elected tonight, this time unanimously, were Patu as vice president and Peaslee as executive committee member-at-large.

3 Replies to "Seattle School Board elects new president in split vote"

  • me on 28th Ave SW December 12, 2012 (9:08 pm)

    …..and the times they are a changin’!

  • ahmamaof2 December 12, 2012 (9:36 pm)

    Looking forward to seeing some real work being done by the board on behalf of our children, rather than special interest groups.

  • Evergreen December 13, 2012 (12:16 am)

    My child’s teacher is at risk of burnout because our school is underfunded and he buys items out-of-pocket, he has to take an additional 14 kids whenever another teacher calls out sick (b/c the district can’t find a substitute), and he (like the rest of us at k5stem) has no idea what SPS plans to do with our school next year and beyond. So much uncertainty and stress, just as there is for AH. Does the board realize that poor communication and indecision affects the teachers too? We don’t have an advocate in either McLaren or Banda, so how exactly will this board shift make a difference for West Seattle and my child’s school? Expecting more of the same.

Sorry, comment time is over.

WP-Backgrounds by InoPlugs Web Design and Juwelier Schönmann